Blog The First

We are story tellers.

We were always told in our creative writing classes that writers journal.  I have behind me a shelf of beautiful journals sitting empty because I felt I had nothing to say.  I didn’t want to write about the minutia of adolescent life – I had no idea what could be interesting about it.  I wanted to write about dragons and sorcerers and terrible deeds and fantastic triumphs.  Later those dragons would drive Mercedes, and the sorcerers found Wall Street appealing.  While terrible deeds happened as terrible deeds do – where the good people of the world averted their eyes.  And fantastic triumphs, we found, can happen in the most unexpected places.

You may notice that I tend to jump pronouns a lot, from “I” to “we” with wild abandon.  That is because A. E. Lowan is actually two people who have been writing together for twenty years, ever since we were teenage journaling failures.  I *bows elegantly* am the more verbose of the two of us.  You may hear from the other from time to time, but she is shy.

We are engaged on a journey, she and I, and it is a journey we would like to share with you.  We are currently working on an urban fantasy book series, The Books of Binding.  The first of the Books, Faerie Rising is nearing completion.  In this blog we’re going to discuss the stress of writing on deadlines, the fears of rejection, the business of traditional publishing, plus whatever else comes to mind.  And, since I’m doing most of the writing here, there will probably be bad attempts at humor.  I’m still not sure if what I have to say will be interesting – there are so many other writers out there who have wonderful blogs with excellent writing advice – but maybe by telling our story we can be of some small help to another writer going through the same journey as we.

Thank you for coming along with us.  It promises to be an interesting ride.

1 Comment

Filed under Urban Fantasy and Other Trifles

One response to “Blog The First

Leave a Reply

